Miss Fox confided:
While I was at home last night with my very best friend, Miss Vernon, there was a knock at the door. Now, I live in a nice, quiet townhouse (terrace to the rest of you) and we rarely get anyone wandering up our driveway, especially at 11pm on a frosty night. So I put down the brandy, slipped on my slippers (the high-heeled ones with the swansdown trimming – I save the fluffy bunny ones for when I’m alone), drew my housecoat around me and answered the door.I couldn’t see anyone. Mercy me, girls, I thought at first someone might then spring out at me, but the night was undisturbed. The moon rode in the cold evening sky, and a nippy breeze whistled around my ankles. I was just about to shut the door when I noticed a glint of light from near my feet. I tell you, girls, as I picked up that bottle, my heart raced and I darted out into the drive to try and spot my mysterious caller. But not a movement disturbed the evening except the rattling of the twigs on the trees. So, quick as I could, I slipped back inside and shut the door.

Needless to say, Miss Vernon (to whom I have told everything) was intrigued as much as I, and we searched the bottle for any hints about its origins. It was a small, crystal bottle with a carved stopper. As we opened it, the scent of flowers just wafted out and seduced our very senses with its rich, joyous scent. But there were no markings or trademarks at all anywhere on the bottle, no card nor wrapping left with it, and I am still puzzled!

Miss Vernon and I spent the rest of the evening puzzling over the mystery, but all I can tell you, pettes, is that as soon as I know anything, I’ll let you know as well.

